Eating · Enjoying DC

Restaurants: Southern Hospitality

In the heart of Adams Morgan, Southern Hospitality sits at the corner of Columbia Road NW and Calvert Street NW. It has smiling, friendly staff and seats inside and out – perfect for a balmy DC evening.

I had the strawberry vodka mojito as a pre-dinner drink, and it was delicious. Of course, this being America, “pre dinner” didn’t really last long enough so  I had to leave some of it for after my meal, since I wasn’t sure how well it would go with pulled pork, and didn’t want to compromise the taste of either. By the time I came back to  it, it had been considerably watered down the ice cubes, which was a shame, though it was still very refreshing. I imagine that, given this restaurant is five minutes’ walk from my flat, I’ll be having this drink again. And again. And again.

The pulled pork, by the way, was flavoursome and tender. I had a unremarkable side salad with it, but I stole a sweet potato fry from my flatmate and that was crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, and very tasty, so perhaps next time I’ll go with that as my side instead.

Even with the crazily high American tip, I only paid $27 – great value. Recommended.

Leave a Reply

