Reading

Claire’s week in books: 13th-20th June

Apparently there’s no more effective way to slow down your reading life than to decide you’re going to blog regularly about books. This is the first week in as long as I can remember that I haven’t bought any books (well, aside from Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale. I haven’t finished any, either. #BookNerdFail, and all that, but instead let me tell you about the books I’m currently reading, some of which I’ve been dipping in and out of for several months now.

Saint Mazie, by Jami Attenberg

IMG_3295I wish I’d had more time to spend with Mazie this week. Life has got in the way of reading, but so far I’m finding Mazie and her world both charming and intriguing. I’ve packed this book with me for my New York trip and hoping I can curl up in my freshly made hotel bed with it for a few hours. A major plus for this one, by the way, when it comes to summer reading: it’s made up of diary entries and short oral histories, so it’s easy to fit in a few sections around dips in the pool, or to start reading it during an airport wait without fear that you will have to stop mid-section. I dislike reading in short bursts, and that is one of the reasons I don’t get through books as fast as I wish I could, but with this book, it works. (Or it would, if mine weren’t a signed hardback I only carry very carefully and selectively and usually only read at home. And if Mazie weren’t so hard to tear yourself away from.)

Modern Love, ed. Dan Jones modern love

Speaking of reading in short bursts, this is a collection of essays from the now long-running New York Times column. I wanted to get a feel for them, partly because I am a romantic soul, and partly because I was toying with the idea of writing one of my own (which I have now done, and I don’t know which I am more terrified of – acceptance or rejection). It’s enjoyable, reflects a wide variety of life experiences, and it’s an easy read. Perfect for if you’re a bit tired or you’re waiting for your running-late friend in a café.

spinsterSpinster: Making a Life Of One’s Own, by Kate Bolick

The chapters are long in this one, so I’ve mostly saved it for my long weekend reading-in-bed-with-no-time-pressure sessions. It’s likely to take me quite a while this way. Part memoir, part literary and social history, part exploration of feminist thought, this is a really interesting book, and different from anything else I’ve read.

Charis: God’s Scandalous Grace for Us, by Preston Sprinkle charis

First of all, can we just pause and marvel at the fabulousness of this author’s name? This is my Sunday book, and it’s great to be reminded of, yes, the scandalousness of grace. “God accepts poepl even though they have not met His standard. This is true. Sort of. But it’s still a decaffeinated definition. It fails to capture the divine aggression that invigorates grace and causes it to lurch upon the unworthy… Grace is more than just leniency and unconditional acceptance. Divine grace is God’s relentless and loving pursuit of His enemies, who are unthankful, unworthy, and unlovable”. This book is an exploration of this, and it can awaken thankfulness and wonder in even a sleepy, cynical soul.

What books have you been reading, buying, looking forward to? I love knowing what my friends are reading. Let me know in the comments

Leave a Reply

