Reading

Claire’s Week in Books, 13th to 20th March

My outbox is shamefully empty – and it’s not because I’m not enjoying my reading. Quite the contrary: I’m really liking Allison Winn Scotch’s In Twenty Years, which I’m super lucky to have as a physical ARC. It’s just that life is ridiculously busy, with a deadline for a cool piece I am writing for a cool magazine, and a self-imposed but very real deadline for my West Wing tribute anthology project. So, it’s not that I haven’t had time for reading, exactly – it’s that I feel like I can’t afford the time to read, so instead I waste far more of it endlessly scrolling through the increasing number of social media apps to which I am addicted. (Have you met Litsy yet?). It’s a sickness.

My inbox is overflowing with good things, however.

Living With a Dead LanguageLiving with a Dead Language: My Romance with Latin, by Ann Patty

I’ve been stalking Edelweiss almost daily in anticipation of this one’s release, and I was granted access to it really quickly – almost as if they knew that language learning is my thing (though that particular thing is somewhat dormant in my life since my visa won’t allow me to teach languages over here – one of my many sources of endless frustration with the immigration system, but I digress). Anyway, this language learning memoir is right in my wheelhouse, though I need to finish In Other Words by Jhumpa Lahiri before I embark on another ones. This might be the nerdiest book I read this year, and I’m excited about it. It also gives me hope for America, the publishing industry, and the world, that a book on such a topic has made it to publication.

 

 

Modern LoversModern Lovers, by Emma Straub

I really liked Emma Sraub’s The Vacationers a couple of summers ago, and this next novel of hers is about a group of college friends later in life, which is one of my favourite things to read about (hence my enjoyment of Allison Winn Scotch’s In Twenty Years). I’ve requested it incessantly for months and pumped my fist in the air, metaphorically at least, when I got the email saying I’d been approved for the digital review copy.

 

 

 

                           

Let God's Word Let God’s Word Empower Your Prayers by Stormie Omartian

This popped up on my Netgalley homescreen, and a Pavlovian reaction had me clicking to request the galley. Back what feels like a hundred years ago, everyone in my corner of the Christian world seemed to be reading, and singing the praises of, The Power of a Praying Woman. I don’t know how I fell about books like that these days (that cover!), but Netgalley clearly thought I was worthy – which is something of a rarity.

 

 

 

 

Crash Course

 

Crash Course: Essays on Writing and Life by Robin Black

Since I read and liked Rachel Cantor’s Good on Paper (another foreign-language-y book), she and I have become Twitter and Instagram buddies. She mentioned this book and highly recommended it, and the title definitely resonates with me. Off I went to Edelweiss, and they approved me the next day. Looking forward to reading it!

 

Leave a Reply

