Reading

If You Own This Book We Should Probably Be Friends

“I think most serious and omnivorous readers are alike – intense in their dedication to the word, quiet-minded, but relieved and eagerly talkative when they meet other readers and kindred spirits.”

I love this quote by Paul Theroux, and I’m never more excited than when I find not just a fellow reader, but a fellow lover of a book that is dear to me. That could be Eats, Shoots & Leaves, which signals I am in the presence of another insufferable punctuation nerd. Or The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society , which tells me the reader is partial to the now-ancient but oh-so-wonderful art of letter writing, and gives me a chance to talk about the deeply happy year I spent as an eighteen-year-old on the island of Guernsey, in the English Channel. Or The Time Traveler’s Wife– chances are high its owner is a fellow romantic of a melancholic bent. Or, particularly now that I live in an English-speaking country, any of the books I grew up reading in Belgium, perhaps especially the poetry of Jacques Prévert. And then, of course, there’s this book.

Over on Book Riot, a few of us talk about the books that points u to a kindred spirit.

Leave a Reply

