Reading

Claire’s Week in Books, 21st to 28th August

Am I ever going to manage to be consistent about this “weekly” post? Probably not. But nevertheless, here are the books I acquired (inbox) and finished (outbox) last week, as well as my next read (in the queue).

Inbox

Untitled-3

Kick, by Paul Byrne

A while back, when researching new books for the magazine where I was interning, I came across a new book, out in February, called Kick Kennedy, about the previously-unknown-to-me Kennedy sister, Kathleen, who moved to England and mingled with the aristocracy there. It sounded so interesting, and a friend of mine had a review copy and offered to send it to me. Turns out: different book! There are two books out this year about Kick Kennedy – the other is by Barbara Leaming, and I’m more drawn to that one for no reason I can ratioally explain, though maybe the fact that its author follows me on Twitter has something to do with it.

translation of loveThe Translation of Love, by Lynn Kutsukake

The same friend had a whole pile of review copies to give away, so I made my way through the list to see what else I might be interested in. The word translation leaped out at me – languages are kind of my thing, or at least they were in my previous, pre-DC life,  so I had a look at the synopsis. Here’s what it said: “Set against the pulsing backdrop of post-war Tokyo, The Translation of Love tells the gripping and heartfelt story of a newly repatriated Japanese-Canadian girl who must help a classmate find her missing sister. A dazzling New Face of Fiction for 2016 that will appeal to readers of All the Light We Cannot See and Anita Shreve.” I don’t always love war stories, though I did like All The Light, but I might well give this a go.

big magicBig Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear, by Elizabeth Gilbert

I keep changing my mind about whether or not I want to read this, but it was on offer in the Kobo store for $3.99, so I went for it. I’ve heard good things, but I’ve also heard people say it’s a bit woo-woo for them, and my tolerance for woo-woo is low. Still, even those people said there was useful stuff here, so it’s worth a try.

Outbox

You WIll Know MeYou Will Know Me, by Megan Abbott

This was my first Megan Abbott, and I liked it. I liked it a lot, actually. It didn’t have me quite from the beginning, but by the half-way mark I was totally absorbed. It wasn’t quite what I expected – I thought there’d be more about the competition between the gymnasts, like in the ballet book Tiny Pretty Things, so I might try Tumbling to assuage that side of my curiosity about that world. Also, I’m not going to lie – I was angry about the ending. I needed one more page and a real resolution to what I had been led to believe was at least one of the central story questions. But this book is so good that with that caveat, I would still recommend it if you like slightly creepy, dark page-turners.

In The Queue

rich and prettyRich and Pretty, by Rumaan Alam

I’ve been hearing about this one all summer, including and especially from my Book Riot friends. It was also a Book of the Month Club pick a few months ago and I’ve be been waiting for the right moment to pick it up. That moment is now! Especially since the author promised to name his next child after me. Oh, and he’s also going to be at  Book Riot Live!

What have you been reading lately?

 

 

Leave a Reply

