Reading

Claire’s Week in Books, 18th to 25th September

Inbox

a-girl-is-a-half-formed-thingA Girl is a Half-Formed Thing, by Eimar McBride

I don’t know very much about this book at all, other than the fact that it’s stream of consciousness-y and a bit experimental. Since I’m writing something that’s a bit different too, I’m particularly interested in writers bending genre at the moment – but if given a choice between plot-heavy novels and novels where not much happens but you really get inside the head of the characters, I will pick the latter every time. Anyway: this book was recently mentioned on, I think, a Book Riot podcast, so when it was then on special offer a few days later, I jumped at the chance to get it.

Outbox

contents-may-have-shiftedContents May Have Shifted, by Pam Houston

I was not sure about this book at first, but I’m so glad I perservered! I don’t think it’s for everyone, but I loved it, and it fired up some neurons in my brain and got me scribbling for both my current work in progress and what may be a future memoir. It’s a memoir/novel in vignettes, with a lot of travelling, a lot of nature, a lot of scary plane moments, and a lot of insight into the narrator’s emotional and relational journeys.

In the Queue

behold-the-dreamersBehold the Dreamers, by Imbolo Mbue

This is one of the big fall books and was my Book of the Month Club pick for September. It’s about an immigrant family in which the guy works for a guy who’s high up at Lehman Brothers around the time when everything implodes. So it’s one of my favourite tropes – Rich People Problems – but with a different angle and point of view.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

