Reading

Claire’s Week in Books, 25th September to 2nd October

Inbox

the-futuresThe Futures, by Anna Pitoniak

I can’t seem to get enough of the meeting-at-university-and-going-out-into-the-world-all-bright-eyed-and-bushy-tailed plotline (and, apparently, unusually pluralised nouns as book titles, like The Hopefuls and The Interestings and The Inseparables). In this one, Julia and Evan, who come from very different backgrounds, meet at Yale and move to NYC just in time for the 2008 credit crunch (do we still call it that?), where they face all kinds of career and relational challenges. I’m definitely intrigued – thanks for the digital review copy, Hachette publicist!

scarlett-epsteinScarlett Epstein Hates It Here, by Anna Breslaw

I happened to be in New York this week, and that gave me the chance to finally see Other People, the Oscar-worthy indie film starring Molly Shannon and Jesse Plemons, and written and directed by Chris Kelly of Saturday Night Live. (It also co-stars Bradley Whitford, which explains why I would put myself though a depressing film about cancer. He was, of course, wonderful.) Anyway, I digress, but the film was only showing in one place, and when I popped up out of the subway, I realised I was, completely unintentionally, mere blocks from Strand Books. It would have been rude not to pay a visit. I headed up to the YA section and this title caught my eye. I’d heard it mentioned before and been intrigued by the premise – Scarlett is an active part of a rabid fandom. For reasons that may be obvious even from this very post, this is something I relate to. And it was a bargain at $9.

me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girlMe and Earl and The Dying Girl

I’ve also been known to pick this up at several bookstores and wonder about reading it. It was on offer at Strand Books at around $5, so I figured it was definitely worth picking up.

 

swing-timeSwing Time, by Zadie Smith

My goodness, I am so excited to have been approved for a review copy of this one. Zadie Smith is no less than a literary sensation, and even though I’ve only read an excerpt of NW so far, I feel a kinship with her, since we lived on the same staircase of King’s College, Cambridge, a few years apart. This one’s about friendship and dance, both of which I love to read about. It’s out on 15th November.

every-kind-of-wantingEvery Kind of Wanting, by Gina Frangello

Doesn’t the title make you want to immediately pick up this book? It certainly did for me as soon as it was mentioned on a Book Riot podcast. According to the book summary, “Every Kind of Wanting explores the complex intersection of three unique families”, who are linked by a surrogate pregnancy. “Tackling issues such as assimilation, the legacy of secrets, the morality of desire, and ultimately who “owns” love, the characters—across all ethnicities, nationalities, and sexualities—are blisteringly alive.” Yes please.

Outbox

behold-the-dreamersBehold the Dreamers, by Imbolo Mbue

I love a book that picks apart the American dream, and this was definitely that. Possibly not the best time for me to be reading about a family with visa woes, though, and also: knowing what i know about visas I kept wanting to point out that actually people in the US on student visas can apply to have their spouses to come too – this seemed to me to be a huge plot that needed to be addressed. I found myself welling up at the end, though, and that means an author’s definitely doing something right in my – ahem – book.

In the Queue

ready-set-novelReady, Set, Novel by Lindsey Grant and Tavia Stewart-Streit

I’ve had this one for literal years – possibly as many as four – and I’ve decided to give NaNoWriMo a ago again this November, for the third time. This time, I’m going to be writing a YA novel, or at least a novel with a teenage protagonist, a sequel of sorts to one of my previous books. Ready, Set, Novel is a workbook to help the extreme novelist plan for this crazy month of writing 50,000 words in 30 days, and it looks like it’s going to be super useful and will help me focus on this new project after two years of revising various old ones.

scarlett-epsteinScarlett Epstein Hates It Here, by Anna Breslaw

It’s not often that I pick up a book and start reading it as soon as I buy it, but I fancied reading some YA, plus I usually read YA faster and I’m sick of being 4-5 books behind on my Goodreads challenge, so I’m hoping this will help me catch up. And, of course, more importantly, I need to start swimming in some YA waters in preparation for my NaNoWriMo challenge. The premise of this one really appeals, too!

 

Leave a Reply

