Reading

In Praise of the Backlist: On (maybe) Reading More Not-Brand-New Books in 2017

old-booksI love new books. Shiny new books. Buzzy new books. I love going to author events and having new books signed. I love walking into bookstores and browsing the New Fiction tables. I love being the person in my friendship circle who’s read the new books, who knows what’s out and what’s worth picking up. I love having a wealth of books to choose from when I’m writing my “top 10 books of this year” December blogposts.

But!

I also love old books.

Head over to Book Riot to read my conflicted feelings about old(ish) versus brand new books. What’s your preference?

2 thoughts on “In Praise of the Backlist: On (maybe) Reading More Not-Brand-New Books in 2017

  1. I was used to reading older books but since I started blogging this changed drastically to brand new books. I like both of them but I do feel kind of special to be able to read something new and to spread the word and help make it well-known to other readers.

Leave a Reply

